Head games at work

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Wow, that's some really crazy stuff going on! I'm sorry you have to deal with nutso coworkers. I'd go to your boss and play dumb, just say "hey, Jan offered me this extra work and said it was okay for me to do it, but I wanted to check with you first, since I think this is the stuff I'm not supposed to do until my results are in." Yeah, you might get him in trouble, but if he's pulling shady s**t your boss should know about it, especially if your boss is also his boss. I'm not too good at office politics, though, so hopefully some other women here will have more input for you.

Also, disregard anything personal Jan tells you. Just don't listen to him when he's telling you stories. you can be polite but dismissive. If you feel you need more prep for this upcoming interview, go to your boss (or someone else above you in the company with whom you feel comfortable) and ask for their input as to what you can do to make yourself a more attractive candidate in the interview.

Jan sounds like he has not been honest with you and has lied by omission.

If this were my situation, I would be polite to him but I would have very litle to do with him. Don't do anything extra from him, even if it will help your job.

Your boss is aware of your concerns and has advised you what to do and what not to do. Jan may be trying to sabotage your chances by acting like he can help you.

My friend Karen worked for a company for one day. She was approached by a girl and asked a few questions about her day. The girl asked her if she like the supervisor. Karen was honest and said the supervisor was so so.

An hour later, Karen was called into the office and was fired for gossiping about the staff. Karen tried to explain that she was questioned and was not gossiping.